It was 35 years ago today (November 23rd, 1981) when AC/DC released their seventh international album, “For Those About To Rock.”  With a title track that would become their closing performance for the rest of the band’s existence, “For Those About To Rock” would become AC/DC‘s only No. 1 album in the U.S., until the release of Black Ice in 2008.  The name of the album was inspired by a book that Angus Young read, For Those About To Die, We Salute You about roman gladiators.

Ever wonder where the idea of the cannon’s came from on the cover of the album and the firing of them in the song?  Well, while the recording sessions were going on, so was the television broadcasting of the marriage of Lady Diana Spencer to Prince Charles.  When the cannons went off and fired in an act of royal salute, the hair on the back of the neck of everyone in the studio stood up and Malcolm got to thinking.  By September, the album was completed and released on this day (November 23rd, 1981).  Here are the tracks on the album:

Side One

  1. For Those About To Rock(We Salute You)
  2. Put The Finger On You
  3. Let’s Get It Up
  4. Inject The Venom
  5. Snowballed

Side Two

  1. Evil Walks
  2. C.O.D.
  3. Breaking The Rules
  4. Night Of The Long Knives
  5. Spellbound

Here is the title track. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You):

Recent Music News:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 98.5 WNCX

Albums Turning 40 In 2018
Get The New Radio.Com App
Concert Calendar

Listen Live